The Friction-fire Summer of 2014

on
2014-06-29 10.31.18
Spruce for both spindle and board – works very well!
I like having my coals on birch bark whenever possible – that way you have the bark available for the fire right away.

This summer I have a little project going – trying to light at least 1 friction fire every single day.

 

To be honest, I’ve already cheated a little. The project seems to clash with things like park-life, bbq, kayaking, etc. every once in a while. But then again there are also those good days where I can light up 3, 4 or 5 times – so my “net worth” should be okay.

I’ll try to upload pictures and/or videos from time to time, but I can’t be bothered to get the camera out every time.

2014-06-29 10.33.01
Use the breeze instead of your breath – much preferred.
2014-06-29 10.33.07
The wind has the coal glowing red-hot in a matter of seconds.
2014-06-29 10.33.10
The bundle caught fire roughly a second after this photo – causing me to change my priority from taking photos to avoid getting burnt…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anette says:

    Hei Eirik!
    Er det ok at jeg legger ut noen bilder fra primitiv camp på bloggen min og linker til deg?

    1. Veidemann says:

      Hei hei 🙂
      Ja, selvfølgelig! Det er bare hyggelig det! 😀

Leave a Reply

